After making it to the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup 2022, the Indian cricket team lost to eventual winners England at the Adelaide Oval. Cricket fans worldwide are called to book T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets from our online platform Cricket fans can book T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets on our website at exclusively discounted prices.

T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets| ICC T20 World Cup Tickets
T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets| ICC T20 World Cup Tickets

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was won by the Indian cricket squad once, in the tournament’s inaugural year of 2007. India defeated Pakistan by five runs in the Wanderers Stadium final, captained by MS Dhoni.

In a few of the eight T20 World Cups that have taken place since the competition’s start, India has come dangerously close to taking home the trophy twice. In light of that, let’s examine India’s performance in the 20-over World Cup in more detail.

India’s results in T20 World Cups

T20 World CupIndia OutcomesTop Sun ScorerTop wicket Taker
2007ChampionsGautam GambhirRP Singh
2009Super 8sYuvraj SinghZaheer Khan
2010Super 8sSuresh RainaAshish Nehra
2012Super 8sVirat KohliYuvraj Singh
2014Runners-upVirat KohliRavichandran Ashwin
2016Semi-finalistsVirat KohliAshish Nehra
2021Group stageKL RahulJasprit Bumrah
2022Semi-finalistsVirat KohliArshdeep Singh
T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets
T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets

2007 ICC T20 World Cup- India emerged victorious

Before defeating Pakistan by bowling them out in the group stages to get to the Super 8, MS Dhoni and company began the competition with a rain-related washout against Scotland. The Men in Blue won their next matches against South Africa and England after losing to New Zealand in the Super 8s, and they then dealt Australia a devastating blow in the semifinal.  ChatGPT

MS Dhoni, widely regarded as one of the most successful cricketers of his era, has left an indelible mark on the sport. Known for his exceptional skills as a wicketkeeper-batsman, Dhoni’s career spanned over a decade and a half, during which he became a pivotal figure in Indian cricket. His ability to finish matches with his trademark finishing prowess earned him immense respect and admiration.

Dhoni’s captaincy tenure saw India achieve unprecedented success in all formats of the game, highlighted by victories in the ICC T20 World Cup, ICC Cricket World Cup, and ICC Champions Trophy. His unflappable temperament under pressure earned him the nickname “Captain Cool,” and his tactical acumen and leadership have influenced a generation of cricketers. Dhoni, despite retiring from international cricket, remains a revered figure, embodying the spirit of excellence and sportsmanship globally.

T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets
T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets

India won the toss

On a bright morning in Johannesburg, India chose to bat first in the last match. Despite losing wickets frequently, Gautam Gambhir guided the Indian innings with a 75 from 52 balls. India scored a respectable 157/5 in 20 overs thanks to a late burst from Rohit Sharma. In response, Pakistan lost wickets even after Imran Nazir’s early barrage. But in the end, Pakistan painfully missed the mark by 5 runs, giving India their sole and inaugural T20 World Cup championship.

In contrast to the inaugural T20 World Cup, India found the second iteration of the competition to be relatively underwhelming. They qualified for the Super 8s by winning Group A against Ireland and Bangladesh. They got off to a great start in the competition. Pakistan’s Super 8 run was a tumultuous affair, losing to South Africa, England, and the West Indies before being eliminated, but ultimately triumphing in the 2009 T20 World Cup.

2010 ICC T20 World Cup: India loses in the Super 8s once more

same to their 2009 campaign, India’s 2010 T20 World Cup effort followed a same route. They defeated South Africa and Afghanistan in both of their group stage matches, but they were unable to maintain their momentum going into the Super 8. You may also like: ICC T20 World Cup: Flashback and previews of semifinal

T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets
T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets

They were eliminated from the T20 World Cup in the Super 8s for the second time in a row after losses to Australia, the West Indies, and Sri Lanka. In the 2010 tournament, England emerged victorious for the first time in the history of cricket’s white-ball formats.

2014 ICC T20 World Cup: India has grief at the end

At the 2014 T20 World Cup, India was drawn into Group 2 along with four other countries. They started the tournament with a bang, defeating teams like Australia, Bangladesh, West Indies, Pakistan, and West Indies to make their way to the semi-finals. India managed to reach the required score of 173 with five balls and six wickets remaining in their semi-final match against South Africa.

In the competition final, they faced Sri Lanka, and that was the end of their winning streak as the island nation managed to chase down their goal of 131 with six runs and 13 balls remaining.

2016 ICC T20 World Cup: India loses in the semifinals

India had a lackluster start to their tournament after losing by 47 runs against New Zealand in their opening game as part of Group 2 with four additional nations for the 2016 T20 World Cup. In order to get to the semi-finals, the Men in Blue then bounced back and won three straight games against Australia, Bangladesh, and Pakistan.

T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets
T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets

They continued and played well, but they lost to West Indies in the semifinal. With three runs and two balls remaining, the West Indies defeated India to advance to the final. They defeated England to win their second T20 World Cup. India had scored 192 in the first innings.

2021 ICC T20 World Cup: India exits the group stage

The Indian cricket team was selected for the IC T20 World Cup 2021 in Super 12 Group 2, which also included Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Scotland, and Namibia. The team lost against New Zealand by eight wickets after losing to Pakistan by a devastating margin of ten wickets.

The team’s progress was hampered by these two losses because it was now up to the Kiwis to perform well. India’s trip came to an end despite victories over Afghanistan, Scotland, and Namibia as New Zealand went on to win. All three of their remaining games and finish second in the points table.

T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets
T20 World Cup Tickets | T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets

2022 ICC T20 World Cup: India was eliminated in the semifinals

The Rohit Sharma-led Indian cricket team was drawn into Group 2 for the Super 12s in Australia. India started the campaign with an undefeated 82-run innings from Virat Kohli. It helped them win a thrilling match against Pakistan in the final over. A straightforward victory over the Netherlands came next. But in the 2022 competition, South Africa broke India’s winning streak. In the following game, India recovered, defeating Bangladesh by five runs.

Before their last Super 12 match, India guaranteed their spot in the semi-finals of the current edition with their victory over South Africa. Out of all the teams in the Super 12, Rohit Sharma and company had the most victories. Later, in the T20 World Cup 2022 the semifinal at Adelaide Oval. The Men in Blue were defeated by the defending champions England by a margin of 10 wickets.

We are offering T20 World Cup Tickets. Cricket admirers can get T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets through our trusted online ticketing marketplace. is the most reliable source to book tickets.